Linux O.S. File Structure

The Linux operating system supports multiple file systems. We use file systems such as ext2, ext3, ext4 in Linux operating systems.

Extendend File System (extfs)
In 1992, it was the first developed file system due to the shortcomings in the Minix File System for Linux (MFS).
The file names in MFS are up to 14 characters.
The maximum file size can be 64MB
Developments in extfs2, extfs3, extfs4 have continued

Extendend File System (extfs2)
Due to the lack of performance and development of Extfs, it emerged in 1993 with a new design approach.
The maximum size of a file in the file system can be 2GB
An interface is added between the Virtual File System (VFS) core and other file systems
The file name can also be 255 characters

Extendend File System (extfs3)
The Ext3 file system was added to the Linux kernel in 2001 and is the file system used by nearly all Linux distributions by default.
Uses the edited mode of logging
There is no recovery mode for files to be deleted
No existing data compression features available
Does not support encrypting files

Extendend File System (extfs4)
The Ext4 file system was officially supported in the Linux kernel in 2008. Now it is the default file system for most commonly used Linux distributions like Fedora and Ubuntu.
Supports compression and encryption
Space helps save money
Allows pre-block separation
Mac OS X is the operating system designed for Apple computers developed by Apple.
Mach is based on micropormage and BSD
It is based on Darwin, an open source operating system.
Developed Aqua as user interface in Mac OS X operating system.